An apology to No Man’s Sky and August PS Plus games

Hey!

I might as well quickly kick off with the PlayStation Plus August games of the month which have just been announced:

PlayStation 4

  • Just Cause 3
  • Assassin’s Creed: Freedom Cry
  • That’s You (bonus title)

PlayStation 3

  • Super Motherload
  • Snakeball

Vita

  • Downwell (crossbuy with PS4)
  • Level 22

 

Sony have provided us with some ok(ish) games to pass the time. I’ll more than likely add them all to my library and try each one out once I get a chance.

My main interest is with Just Cause 3. I played the very first game way back in the PS2 days. It was a game which through watching the trailers really stood out for me as it felt like another Mercenaries game (which is another series I loved and sad its disappeared). Although after a few hours playing the game, my fondness for it drifted away. I’m hoping Just Cause 3 might keep me interested for a little longer.


 

Thanks to the Summer sale on the PSN store I treated myself to No Man’s Sky for a nice price of £9.99. This is a game which, from the E3 conference years ago, blew my mind! Fast forward to release and due to me having no money to spend on games I had to miss purchasing it on launch. A small part of me was glad I’d missed the boat due to all the flak which surrounded the game after release. Although I did feel sorry for Hello Games, they had put together what looked to be a fine game with such a small studio, it was the hype around it which gave it the negative praise it didn’t deserve.

I had a couple of friends who had picked up the game, they all praised the game but said it was lacking certain elements which had been supposedly promised, therefore their view on the game had taken a nasty blow. Again I was thankful I didn’t spend the full £49.99 on the game at first release.

After seeing this game in the sale for so cheap I decided to have another read up to see if development had improved at all. The community around the game was still as vocal as ever and it seemed improvements had been made to the game and more were due to follow. That sort of settled it for me, so I dove in and purchased the game waiting to see if my previous thoughts could be changed………….what I didn’t see coming was something which would grasp me like no game has done in a long time.

nomanssky2

Due to my not so brilliant internet connection out here in Nepal and my account troubles with Sony (a story for another day) I had to wait a while before I could actually start the game. This gave me a chance to read up more into the game. One word which I kept coming across was ‘grind’. Now I have to say I usually steer clear of grinding games, but lately I’ve become quite fond of them, I think it’s because I have more time on my hands.

nomanssky3

Once I finally was away with the game I was engrossed in everything it offered, restoring everything so I could get off my first planet, finding outposts and trading items, scouring the planet for vital resources, this game was just amazing. Come to the end of my first session I noticed I’d ploughed nearly 4 hours into the game and not even left my first planet. My next session would last just as long but this time I would be venturing far in the universe. Just so I don’t bore you with every single detail, I have now played countless hours on the game and don’t feel like stopping at all. I seemed to have stopped following the path to the end game and started upgrading my home base and doing a lot of trading.

nomanssky4

I have to come clean, I owe an apology to Hello Games and No Man’s Sky itself. I was wrong to judge a game because of everything I heard around me, I wish I had picked this game up sooner. I am lucky that I was able to pick up the game for £9.99 because the amount of time I know I will put into this game makes it one of the best gaming bargains I have ever bought!

If you follow me on Twitter or Instagram you’ll probably start seeing more pictures from the game as it is just beautiful to look at and all I want to do is share it with everyone!

nomanssky1

Thanks for reading! Until next time,

Matt

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

